King Richard 3rd

I saw a statue of a warrior.
A King who had led his men.#
His intention was to be their saviour.
But was killed on Bosworth field,
When his men began to yield.
His body was dismembered.
On some church steps he was thrown.
The pieces were probably,
Placed into a consecrated grave
In some local Abbey,
Then exhumed by someone unbeknown.
His remains dumped into the river,
Just past the Jewery Wall.
A plaque is there,
So he will be remembered.
But the truth about his body,
None can recall.

Poetry Guild accepted ‘King Richard III on Sept 97 for publication in ‘Celebration of Poets’.

A new verse added 6/9/2014

In Leicester recently
Beneath a car-park his remains found
Where will he be buried decently?
DNA matched, everything proved sound.
A wrangle where his bones will be interred.
Some wish him to be with his family
In Westminster Abbey many inferred
But York should win as he lived there happily.
He was brought up in Ludlow.
Leicester could well keep him now.

©Irene Hinton-Mullins 6/9/2014  

About David Rollason

I am a writer, creative, inventive, observant, but the results are for you the reader to decide. There are things in my head constantly that I need to get out and into a readable form and this for now is my preferred medium. I am a simple being with complex workings. I am a complex being with simple logic. I am really just..... me.
This entry was posted in Irene Hinton-Mullins, Members Work, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment